How do I backup and save my course?


Important: Before Restoring a course, please contact the ATS department since this may restore student data or settings that are not appropriate.

Prepare with the following steps:

  • Login to Moodle using the Mozilla Firefox browser, visit: FAQ ID #1175
  • Confirm that you are in your intended course, visit: FAQ ID #1176

Backing Up your Course:

A course can be saved with some or all of its data components by using the course Backup link. A backup creates a course copy that an instructor can use to restore and save into a Master course. This process can prove helpful when extensive edits have been made to a live course throughout a semester. As a result it would be important to update and record the changes for a master shell.

  1. Choose Backup from the Aministration block.

     
  2. Select what to include/exclude under backup settings.

    • Do NOT check the box next to Include enrolled users.
    • Related to FERPA and privacy concerns, user (student) information should not be backed up for use in a master course.
    • Select Next.
    Backup settings

  3. Define "Schema" settings.

    • In this area you can select which topics, activities and resources you want to back up.
      (All items will be selected by default)
    • Make sure no User data is selected (see illustration below)
    • Scroll down, and select "Next".
    Schema settings

  4. Review settings and confirm options. Click on Perform Backup to continue.
    Perform backup

  5. You will receive a message when the backup is complete.
    Backup success

  6. Close the page if you are done or select continue to go to the Course Restore Screen.


For instructions on how to restore your course, visit: FAQ ID #1420

2017-05-23 16:56 Josh Bruck
Average rating: 0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry

Chuck Norris has counted to infinity. Twice.

Records in this category

Tags

Sticky FAQs